Women included in 2019 in the National Women’s Hall of Fame


Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor, actress Jane Fonda and attorney Gloria Allred, Civil rights activist Angela Davis, Native American lawyer Sarah Deer, retired Air Force fighter pilot Nicole Malachowski, the late suffragist and cartoonist Rose O’Neill, New York Congresswoman Louise Slaughter, who died last year, composer Laurie Spiegel and AIDS researcher Flossie Wong-Staal are the ten members of the Class of 2019 announced Friday. “We are pleased to add these American women to the ranks of inductees whose leadership and achievements have changed the course of American history,” hall of fame President Betty Bayer said.


The formal induction ceremony will take place in September outside Seneca Falls, the upstate city considered the birthplace of women’s rights where the hall is located. The National Women’s Hall of Fame is the nation’s oldest membership organization dedicated to honoring and celebrating the achievements of distinguished American women. Its mission is “Showcasing great women…Inspiring all!” There have been 266 women inducted into the Hall.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here