Vaccinated travelers from many countries will be soon accepted in the EU


The European Union has agreed on Wednesday to allow now entry to vaccinated travelers from countries with low infection rates. Americans and other non-Europeans will be allowed to visit the continent this summer. The decision, taken by ambassadors from the 27 EU member countries, must still be formally approved by national leaders. An approved list of “safe” destinations is due to be signed off this week, probably Friday, based on epidemiological criteria. Recommendations suggest that countries with less than 75 cases per 100,000 people will be included. Vaccination with the serums of Pfizer-BioNTech, Moderna, Johnson & Johnson, AstraZeneca and Sinopharm will be accepted. However individual member states will have the finally decision on what measures to impose, which means some could still opt to keep quarantine measures in place, while others may ask for negative PCR tests and/or proof of vaccination.


The new rules will come into effect in June and there is a hope for a better time in tourism. Further details of the “Digital Green Certificate,” which will be required as proof of vaccination or immunity for travelers entering the European Union borders, have not been provided as yet. The European bloc will also maintain an emergency-brake option, a legal tool that will allow it to quickly snap back to more restrictive travel conditions if a threatening new variant or other Covid emergency emerges.