Same-sex marriage national vote in Australia delayed for years


The issue of same-sex marriage would not be reintroduced into parliament until after the next election, which is due in or before November 2019. At this time same-sex couples in Australia are prevented from marrying by the 2004 amendments to the federal Marriage Act (1961). Only civil partnership, civil unions and domestic partnerships are recognized in most states and territories. Some Australian Aboriginal communities support retaining the existing definition of marriage. As of September 2016, of the 561 local governments (also known as “councils” or “shires”) in Australia, a total of 40 are known to have passed formal motions in support of the legalization of same-sex marriage. Same-sex marriage has been on the political agenda in Australia for several years.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here