Cuba to be removed from the list of state sponsors of terror


Inclusion on the list imposes strict sanctions. The countries currently on the list are Cuba, Iran, Sudan and Syria. Cuba was added to the list on March 1, 1982.  There are several United States embargoes and sanctions in force by the United States against several countries and activities, the most notable of which are against countries the federal government of the United States considers State Sponsors of Terrorism. Some of those sanctions are: controls over dual-use exports, restrictions on economic assistance and many financial restrictions. Several laws delegate embargo power to the President: Trading with the Enemy Act of 1917,  Foreign Assistance Act of 1961, International Emergency Economic Powers Act of 1977 or International Emergency Economic Powers Act of 1977.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here