15 European countries acting together in a legal case against Hungary


Belgium, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Portugal, Austria, Ireland, Denmark, Malta, Spain, Sweden, Finland, Slovenia, France, Germany and Greece – a total of 15 European countries together with the European Parliament – joined a legal case against Hungary’s Child Protection Law considered anti-LGBT. “We stand firm in our commitment to an inclusive society and equality for all, declared the Belgian Foreign Affairs Ministry. The prohibits or heavily restricts depictions of homosexuality and gender reassignment in media content and educational material addressed to audiences under 18 years of age. The law was criticised by human rights groups and international watchdogs. “This Hungarian bill is a shame,” European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen said in 2021. It’s considered the Hungarian law violates EU law.


Hungary’s position was affirmed this week by Péter Szijjártó, Hungary’s foreign affairs minister: „ For us, the matter of child protection knows no compromises, we will protect our children.” He reaffirmed that the law was adopted after a public referendum. “We will not give in to pressure, we will protect our children!” Hungarian Justice Minister Judit Varga wrote on Facebook. The lawsuit is “the largest human rights case in EU legal history,” Belgian rights group Forbidden Colours said on Friday.