Access visa to be temporarily reintroduced by EU for the US citizens


Visa reciprocity is invoked because citizens of Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Poland and Romania still cannot enter US territory without a visa, while US citizens can travel to all EU countries visa-free. Following a notification of non-reciprocity on 12 April 2014, the EU Commission should have acted before 12 April 2016. Previously, in 2014, the European Commission was notified that five countries were not meeting their obligations towards the EU with regard to reciprocity of visa-free travel: Australia, Brunei, Canada, Japan and the US. And now, the US is the only country to requests visa for some EU citizens. “We will report on further progress made before the end of June and continue to work closely with both the European Parliament and the Council,” a Commission spokeswoman said. On the other part, the economic cost of imposing visa restrictions on the millions of American tourists and business travelers who visit Europe each year is a major disincentive.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here