Google is giving customers greater control over their privacy when using Google Maps, YouTube and Google Assistant.
It’s launching incognito mode for Maps, the auto-delete feature on YouTube, that can already automatically clear out your location history and web data at an interval of user’s choosing and the possibility to wipe recent voice commands or questions to Google Assistant, a week of history, without having to open an app on the phone. Google is also building a password checkup feature right into the company’s password manager, which syncs logins across Chrome and Android.
„When you turn on Incognito mode in Maps, your Maps activity on that device, like the places you search for, won’t be saved to your Google Account and won’t be used to personalize your Maps experience. You can easily turn on Incognito mode by selecting it from the menu that appears when you tap your profile photo, and you can turn it off at any time to return to a personalized experience with restaurant recommendations, information about your commute, and other features tailored to you. Incognito mode will start rolling out on Android this month, with iOS coming soon,” Google explained.